What should I bring to a consultation?

Consultations are more productive if you bring certain documents with you.  If for some reason you are unable to bring documents or you do not have access to these documents at the time of consultation, do not worry.  Should you choose to hire us, you can bring documents to the office at a later time.

 

Divorce Cases:

  • A copy of the Complaint and any other documents served on you (this applies only if your spouse has filed for divorce and you have been served with a copy)

  • Tax returns and pay stubs and/or documentation of income for you and your spouse for the preceding three (3) years

  • Most recent statements for all retirement accounts for you and your spouse

  • Appraisals and mortgage information of land and homes owned by you and your spouse

  • Documentation of value of any high value personal property such as vehicles, boats, four-wheelers, fine jewelry, etc

  • Recent bank statements for all accounts held jointly or by either spouse

  • Pictures, recordings, or other evidence that corroborates any relevant allegations

Custody Cases:

  • Copies  of pleadings that you have been served with, if any (such as a Motion to Modify Custody filed by your child's other parent or a Paternity Complaint)

  • Tax returns and pay stubs and/or documentation of income for the preceding three (3) years

  • Recent bank statements for all accounts

  • Pictures, recordings, or other evidence that corroborates any relevant allegations

  • A copy of the court order you wish to have modified if you are seeking to modify a custody order

How do I schedule a consultation?

To schedule your consultation, you can schedule using our online scheduler by clicking here or by calling (870) 779-1860.  Either way is fine with us.

During an initial consultation, we want to gather enough information from you to understand your unique situation.  We review any pleadings, evidence and other documents you bring and answer preliminary questions about the process of handling your case.

If you are considering hiring us to handle your case, we will also discuss hourly rates and retainer fees during this initial consultation. 

How long will my case take?

Each case is unique.  For that reason, length of the process varies greatly from case to case.  For instance, a divorce case in which the parties agree from the outset on property division and child custody is a significantly faster process than a contested high-asset, complex property division and custody dispute.  

 

No divorce case, however, is shorter than 30 days in Arkansas.  Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 9-12-307(a)(B), there is a 30-day waiting period for all divorces filed in Arkansas. 

 

We can better answer how long your particular case may take after finding out more about your unique situation.